top of page

Stick and Stones...Dealing with Bullies

Hey Girl! It's Allyson,


When I got older, I hated that phrase.


“Stick and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”


We’re taught that saying when we’re kids. Innocent. Pure. Defenseless.

When we get home to mommy and daddy and tell them that the kids at school are saying mean things, we’re told to ignore them. We were told to tell the teacher. Our moms said “It’s just because they like you!” Or “They’re just jealous of you.”


So we grow up, trying to ignore hateful words, keeping the attack to ourselves out of fear of repercussion, or accepting verbal and physical abuse as love.


There was a video that went viral a few days ago of a mom who came to her daughter’s defense when she was told that the boys at school who were bullying her wouldn’t stop.


Check it out here.

The mom shown in this video in Christian Tinsley from CA. She states in an interview that her daughter wept in the car because she didn't want to go to school. She told her mother that if she's wasn't so strong, she would've killed herself. The words spoken to this young girl over social media and in person made her think about taking her life.


You may not agree with her methods, but we can all agree that it should have NEVER gotten to this point.


Words do hurt. They go beyond the outer exterior of a person and seep into the heart, mind, and soul of a person. Negative words spoken in childhood can leave a lasting impact on people way into adulthood.


If you're being bullied verbally or physically, first know that you are not alone. Women all over the world are dealing with negative words being spoken to them. Someone, somewhere understands you. You don't have to face it alone. Tell someone. If that person doesn't listen, tell someone else. You keep talking about it until someone listens and does something.


Second, and this is a hard one, but don't place what they say about you on a higher pedestal than the truth about who you are.


The truth is you're amazing. The truth is that even though I don't know you, I love you and who you are. I love you because at some point in your life, you're going to change the world for the better, which means that you'll change my life for the better. So I'm sending you love now. I'm saying thank you now. I need you to make it through it because I need the change you're going to make. You may not know what it is, and neither do I, but I know it's going to be great. Don't let these words, no matter how harsh they are, cloud your mind to the point that you don't see a way out. Don't let it cloud your mind to the point you think your life isn't valuable... because it is.


Words do hurt, but don't give them power to kill you, to kill your dreams. To kill your purpose in this world.


I need you.


~Allyson

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page